Skip to content
Tags

i made… the bike shiny :)

January 29, 2012

The urge to do something productive and git ‘er done hits me now and then. When it hit this past week the victim was the mountain bike that’s been sitting in the garage. Last year a couple from the Southbay Cruisers moved up north. They gave me their potted plants (!) and the bike. I had let it sit all this time because it needed a good dose of TLC and I was too lazy :p

mountain bike before

mountain bike before

Chris informed me this bike has seen Burning Man hence the costume and dirt everywhere. First the fabric wrapping got stripped off and then the bike chain for a good degreasing and scrub. Then I went in with rags, soapy water and a toothbrush for about 3 hours. In every joint and weird little space that the rag or toothbrush could get in. Dirt everywhere!

under the wrapping

under the wrapping

bike chain soak

bike chain soak

the cassette before cleaning. ew.

the cassette before cleaning. ew.

the most time consuming thing was cleaning up the cassette gears. Lots of grit and old grease and hair. I ended up using a wood skewer to get most of the last of it out. Ok, now maybe I don’t want to go to Burning Man anymore…

major EW! How did that even get there?!

major EW! How did that even get there?!

before and after - rear derailers

before and after - rear derailers or those shifty things

Gave the gears, derailleurs and chain a good spray with White Lightning, and also rubbed Armor All on the cable housings.

before and after - cranks and front derailleurs

before and after - cranks and front derailleurs

before and after - rear brakes

before and after - rear brakes

before and after - front brakes and reflector

before and after - front brakes and reflector

The before is technically a halftime pic. I tried to clean only the left side to show the difference, including the reflector.

finished!

finished! mostly.

After scrubbing everywhere and drying off I gave it a once over with pledge to shine it up and help guard against rust. The tires need more attention, only cleaned one spot and decided to do that outside another day. I switched the seat that was on it for an old stock Schwinn one with more pad. I need to have the front brake lever looked at, it is sticking. And I still need to take it on the street and check all the gears are shifting well.
We’ll probly use this as a backup or loaner for the bike group. And I’d like John to use it as his alternate when he doesn’t need to lug stuff in his Xtracycle. It was nice to find this nice mountain bike under all the grime! Thanks Chris and Mary!
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Chris Tyler permalink

    Hi Mary!
    Wow – looks like you did a great job rescuing the bike! I had hoped that that bike could be saved but never quite got around to tackling it before we left… and I doubt I would have done as good a job. I hope it serves you well!

    • Thanks Chris! me too once I get the stick out of that brake lever 🙂 I think it’s coming with us to CicLAvia next month!

Leave a Reply

