Skip to content

i’m growing… many things

February 23, 2012

I am about 2 weeks behind on my succession planting :p So last night I tried to get back on track with that and a jumpstart on summer crops. Enter the Glorious Seed Stash:

She lives in my room, in that empty spot on the shelf there. The shelf right above it currently holds a bunch of seed I saved from last summer and fall and have been too lazy to stash properly. Also gardening magazines, books and catalogs. And within my most Glorious Seed Stash we find –

The only organized things in my room :9 Can ya guess my favorite seed company was when I started gardening? Anybody? I seriously LOVE their boxes to this day…

Back to business! I picked out some summer fruits from the Fruits box and several veggies and herbs that were in the green metal bin you saw sitting atop the GSS (typically seeds I have preselected for impending sowing… or found laying around and need to put away). For this round of sowing we have:

  • Herbs – wheat and lemon grasses
  • Veggies – anuenue lettuce, Detroit beets, Stuttgart onions, scarlet Nantes and carnival carrots
  • Fruits – lemon cucumber, Clint Eastwood rowdy red and Hawaiian red currant tomatoes, sweet cherry red pepper, Rosa Bianca eggplant and sugar baby watermelon

And out to my dear potting bench and supplies we go!

This bench is a re-purposed changing table I got from a friend (thanks Shannon!). I replaced the particle board shelves with pallet wood planks. One day I will cut an opening in the railing on the front of the top shelf and maybe even paint it… Anyway, the very helpful supplies are seeds (‘doy), little containers (nursery flats, coffee cups, etc.), sharpie, tape for labeling, sharpie, coconut coir, and an awl (that pointy metal thing next to the sharpie). The awl is one of my dad’s tools, it is supposed to be used to tap little starter holes in wood for nailing and drilling. I use it to punch holes into plastic cups and other things for drainage. Usually I use blue painter’s tape to label everything, but I could find mine ANYWHERE so I cut up some strips of paped and used regular scotch tape this time. *update – while typing this post I did a double take at pic #1 and found the damn painter’s tape *palmface* Of course I went in and out of the house a dozen times gathering things which tends to drive the Felis catus crazy trying to keep up with me 🙂

So anyway, no we will hopefully have many Green Babies coming. The herbs and veggies are on the seedling shelves out back, and the temperamental fruits are on the bathroom floor where they should be much warmer at night.

So that’s what’s happening. Crossing my fingers Felis catus doesn’t try to use those nursery flats as a fancy new litter box…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

