Skip to content
Tags

,

i got praise! ;)

June 26, 2012

Oh so here’s little confession for those who don’t know – I’ve got an little fangirl spirit for Gargoyles.

I just fell in love with that show as a kid and it never went away ❤

So that show came out in ’94 and I was a fan starting from early ’95 (commercials made it look like a boring good-guy-fights-bad-guy-EVERY-week show for boys, so I avoided it until one day… it is SO much more) and flash forward a decade or so and I finally found the online fandom (the fangirl, it’s leaking out!) and my favorite fanfic writer – KT. Her stories are great, the original characters she created in the Gargoyle word are fascinating, and to boot she gives great physical descriptions of them….

…ah descriptions. It was not enough that I liked her stories and characters, once I got a hold of the detailed descriptions I wanted to draw them so I could SEE them too. So I did. Not all of them by far, but several, and one day I still want to do every single one. Someday.

Anyway, what the heezy and I posting for? Recently KT asked me for links to the drawings and sketches I did so she can link them to her online forums (!) so I made sure everything I had scanned was uploaded to my DA account for her. Today I checked my DA messages and found comments from her on a few of the rough sketches. On Cassius:

“Maybe it’s because I’m no spring chick myself anymore, but I love that you felt inspired to draw a gargoyle in the equivalent to his fifties; definitely well past his prime, as evidenced by the lines of aging, but still plenty tough.”

And on my line art for Ursula:

“I think this is my favorite of all your black-and-white, line-art depictions of my OC’s. Ursula’s face unmistakably shows aging, the superficial beauty of youth faded, but the more important beauty of spirit showing through.”

For me those words are like an Oscar, I seriously almost teared up at my desk.

Ok, that is all. Just sharing my moment of fangirl joy!

 

p.s. if you know Gargoyles and you’re curious about KTs fanfic, I urge you to go read it. Warning, you may lose track of countless hours….

p.p.s. KT please please PLEASE continue posting “And On, and On…”! i’m a Life Goes On junkie and I will still need a fix from time to time!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

